Cori Bush is absolutely correct…this time.

Shelly Spann
2 min readJul 5, 2021

“Black people still aren’t free” posted from her twitter account on 4th of July.

Dear Rep. Cori Bush:

The question I have for you and all who agree with you especially your colleagues : How has the lack of freedom for black people impacted your lives today?

I appreciate your outspoken, bold stance on the fourth of July being for white people…however you forgot to add your gratitude for you having a seat at the same table where these freedoms were established, the same “white table”.

Please know that your support in matters such as freedoms that black people aren’t receiving only sound good to yourself and ungrateful privileged and protected people.

Real people, real black people who know and live daily under injustice and fear just like our ancestors did see you as mere troublemakers looking for attention.

I am a black woman, mother of a nonverbal autistic black man who has had all of his civil rights stripped from him. My son is under the guardianship of DSS in Maryland, because the services he needs wouldn’t be available to him if he was in my care. I was advised to give up my guardianship so that my son could have an amazing life with DDA. A safe person centered, family included full life. Only one catch my son is black. The freedoms that you spoke of that black people don’t have my son under the care of DSS and DDA is victim of that enslavement.

My son is restricted to being in a group home that has a court issued stay way order against me and DSS and DDA are forcing my son to stay with these people. The owner of the group home went as far as having me arrested in front of my son falsely accusing me of violating this order.

My son can’t go to his own church, his own barber or use his ipad when he wants. My son is only allowed to drink water when the staff offers it. Inmates in prison have more freedom than my son.

In closing, I want to give you a perspective of real people, real black people who aren’t really free. Hopefully if you hear or see this writing you and others like you will throw in some gratitude and real people, real black people with your opinions or tweets. It may help you continue your success in politics because from where I sit once the white table that you’re seated at today changes leaders you might not get another seat.

Respectfully,

some real enslaved black people.

--

--

Shelly Spann

These writing and pictures are being create with the intention of getting fair and equal treatment for Reggie and others like him!